Editorial

Advance for Respiratory Care & Sleep Medicine • January 2017

4 AADDVVAANNCCEE FFOORR RREESSPPIIRRAATTOORRYY CCAARREE && SSLLEEEEPP MMEEDDIICCIINNEE JANUARY 2017 By Tamer Abouras For fans of Star Trek, news of Leonard Nimoy’s passing in 2015 was understandably heartbreaking. Although the late actor did indeed live long, until the age of 83, he was a casualty of chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD), a condition which can greatly inhibit those who have it from prospering. “We often don’t think about COPD as a deadly disease,” Eli Diacopoulos, business leader of home respiratory care at Philips told ADVANCE. “But the reality is that of the six leading causes of death in the U.S. over the past 40 years (1970–2002) and despite advances in COPD, death rates have doubled while other causes like stroke and heart disease have decreased by 63% and 52%, respectively.” Diacopoulos, as well as Julie Nimoy and David Knight, daughter and son-in-law of the late star, were interviewed for the cover story of this month’s ADVANCE for Respiratory Care & Sleep Medicine issue, focused on Philips’ Breathe Boldly (#BreatheBoldly) movement and the documentary film, “Remembering Leonard.” Concurrently, each is designed to raise awareness of the disease and inform patients of available treatments which could help them, as Nimoy’s Spock might say, “live long and prosper.” This month’s e-magazine is a focused issue, exploring the diagnosis, treatment and long-term care of COPD, which according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) remains the third-leading cause of death in the United States. Over 50% of patients who have the disease are not even aware it is the cause of their symptoms. There is also an article on CPAP mask fitting, addressing another pertinent respiratory topic which affects millions of undiagnosed patients: obstructive sleep apnea (OSA). As is the case with COPD, OSA is yet another respiratory condition which often goes undiagnosed and untreated due to a lack of awareness of signs and symptoms. In spite of the fact that there is not yet a known cure for COPD, the means exist for helping to manage the disease and improve quality of life for those that have it. The Breathe Boldly movement seeks to inform as many as have the condition (as well as those with loved ones who exhibit symptoms), while medical professionals continue ahead, seeking to go boldly where no man has gone before and cure COPD once and for all. Tamer Abouras is assistant editor of ADVANCE for Respiratory Care & Sleep Medicine. EDITORIAL HOW TO CONTACT US: Merion Matters, ADVANCE for Respiratory Care & Sleep Medicine. 2900 Horizon Drive, King of Prussia, PA 19406-0956, (610) 278-1400, www.advanceweb.com, For a FREE subscription: (800) 355-1088, To place a calendar, display or recruitment ad, or to contact the editorial department: (800) 355-5627 PRESIDENT Ann Wiest Kielinski GENERAL MANAGER W.M. “Woody” Kielinski VICE PRESIDENT Maria Senior EDITORIAL Editor: Jonathan Bassett jbassett@advanceweb.com Assistant Editor: Tamer Abouras tabouras@advanceweb.com Editorial Assistants: Katherine Bortz, Dillon Stickle, Sarah Sutherland Web Director: Jennifer Montone jmontone@advanceweb.com DESIGN Design Director: Walt Saylor Associate Art Director: Scott Frymoyer Mac Tech Manager & Production: Michael Galban Production Manager: Cheryl A. Drotar MARKETING Marketing Director: Maria Senior Marketing Manager: Jessaley Stercula ADMINISTRATION Human Resources Manager: Ellen Spiegel Director Sales Administration: Mike Connor MEDIA & MARKETING OPPORTUNITIES DISPLAY ADVERTISING National Corporations Sales Manager: Rachel Laird rlaird@advanceweb.com EDUCATION ADVERTISING Education Sales Manager: Maria Senior msenior@advanceweb.com HEALTHCARE FACILITY ADVERTISING Group Sales Managers: Amy Sherlock asherlock@advanceweb.com, Kevin Reagan kreagan@advanceweb.com CUSTOM PROMOTIONS Sales Manager: Mike Kerr Live Long & Prosper


Advance for Respiratory Care & Sleep Medicine • January 2017
To see the actual publication please follow the link above